Thursday, September 30, 2010

3 peat for Ateneo de Manila University

Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles joins UE, DLSU and FEU in UAAP history, as they won their 3rd straight championship trophy. Ateneo rely on their defense and to former Rookie of the Year awardee Ryan Buenafe. Buenafe scores season high 23 points including a winning 3 point shot in the last seconds of the game. Finals MVP is also awarded to Ryan Buenafe.

FEU Tamaraws starts strong and even had an 11 point lead during the first quarter, but Ateneo bounced back and cut the lead to 1 point going to half time. When the 3rd quarter started, Glenn Capacio is not in the FEU bench, coaching staff explained that Capacio had his blood pressure checked. The head coach was not seen the attire 2nd half.

FEU had a chance when Paul Sanga was fouled in the 3 point area but Sanga made 1 out of his three shots. Buenafe's three point shot sealed the game for Ateneo. Final score Ateneo 65- FEU 62 

17 thousand spectators witnessed the back-to-back-to-back championship of the Blue Eagles.Former Ateneo players, former President Joseph Estrada, Chief Justice Renato Corona and Bianca Gonzales are some of the big names who watched the game.

After losing their key players this year, the Eagles managed to get to the finals and win the championship. Coach Norman Black also joins Baby Dalupan, Aric Del Rosario and Franz Pumaren  for winning the 3 peat.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...